Lewiston Lodge of Perfection

The Ineffable Degrees ( 4° – 14° )

The first portion of the Scottish Rite system of degrees is called The Lodge of Perfection. This series of degrees includes the 4th° through to the 14th° and are referred to as the ineffable degrees. Ineffable comes from the Latin ineffibilis which means something that should not be spoken.

Officers 2022-2023

  • Benjamin J. Weisner, 32°, MSA – Thrice Potent Master
  • Ill. Richard M. Nadeau, 33°, MSA – Deputy Master
  • Michael R. Roy, 32°, MSA – Senior Warden
  • Ill. James H. Witham, 33° - Treasurer
  • Ill. Richard N. Bergeron, Jr., 33° - Secretary
  • Ronald R. Bourque, 32° - Junior Warden
  • Brian L. Ellis, 32°, HGA – Orator
  • Neal L Coro, 32° – Master of Ceremonies
  • Stuart M. Smith, 32° – Captain of the Guard
  • Ill. William H. Stretton, 33°, MSA - Tyler

4th Degree – Builder

A Master Mason seeks divine guidance. Philosophy: Brothers grow together in Scottish Rite. Core Values: Reverence for God, Integrity, & Service

5th Degree – Perfect Master

Two sons of Aaron, corrupted by greed and ambition, allow the sacred flame to extinguish. Philosophy: Trustworthiness is more valuable than life and is the basis for Masonic honor. Core Values: Reverence for God, Justice & Integrity.

6th Degree – Master of the Brazen Serpent

When the children of Israel encounter a rough and dangerous journey through the desert, they rebel against Moses and God. Philosophy: The answer to the spiritual problems of mankind is faith in ourselves and in God. Core Values: Reverence for God.

7th Degree – Provost and Judge

A dispute among the workmen where honesty and justice prevail. Philosophy: We should render justice to all mankind. Core Values: Justice & Integrity.

8th Degree – Intendent of the Building

Based on the Old Testament story of King David and his assignment to his son, the future King Solomon. Philosophy: The degree reminds us that each honor we receive requires attention to a particular duty. Core Values: Service, Integrity, & Reverence for God.

9th Degree – Master of the Temple

The Temple of King Solomon is dedicated by priests of many religions. Philosophy: We should not be too zealous in executing justice. Core Values: Reverence for God & Service.

10th Degree – Master Elec

King Solomon learns of his sentence from which there is no appeal. Philosophy: The violator of his obligations to God will not go unpunished. Core Values: Reverence for God & Justice.

11th Degree – Sublime Master Elected

King Solomon’s tax collector violates the public trust. Philosophy: When confronted by corrupt, tyrannical, or illegal behavior on the part of a person in authority, the nation should remain loyal and courageous. Core Values: Integrity.

12th Degree – Master of Mercy

Joseph forgives his brothers for selling him into slavery. Philosophy: We are taught forgiveness, compassion, and brotherly love. Core Values: Justice & Integrity.

13th Degree – Master of the Ninth Arch

The degree dramatizes the dangers encountered as men search for the lost word. Philosophy: We are reminded that difficulties and dangers should not deter us from pursuing moral perfection. Core Values: Reverence for God.

14th Degree – Grand Elect Mason

The essence of Symbolic Masonry is compiled in lessons of the Lodge of Perfection. Philosophy: Members are encouraged to worship God at the altar of their choice. Core Values: Reverence for God.